About us

Rosa

Mum, dad and child pulling funny faces
Us 3!

I’m a qualified teacher of Modern Foreign Languages (and hold a TESOL certificate).  I was born in Galicia but moved to the UK at the age of 5 and completed all my education including University there.  I have taught in infants, primary and secondary schools both as an MFL teacher and a cover teacher.  My last job in the UK before moving back to Galicia was at the University of Bedfordshire where I spent 8 years teaching and supporting students (both undergraduates and postgraduates) to use Microsoft Office for the production of their essays, reports, analyses and thesis.  I have also supported students with dyslexia and other learning differences to improve their study skills and gain a graduate qualification.

Matthew

I am a UK qualified social worker, with more than 30 years experience, specialising in learning disabilities and safeguarding adults. I have worked with children and adults as a camp leader in a voluntary capacity.  I am currently learning how to speak Spanish so I have a good understanding of the problems and difficulties encountered by languages students.  I hold a TESOL Certificate (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages).

Cat and dog touching noses
Cat and dog

We decided to leave the rat race in order to raise our young daughter in a more rural, tranquil and greener environment along with our 2 dogs, cat and chickens.  We chose the beautiful surroundings of the Costa da Morte in Galicia.

We also have adult children (24+ years old) who remained in the UK to continue their careers and lives with their own